Slowly, Yet Surely

Victory!  This morning I had a sudden idea to try on a pair of my non-maternity dress pants right before leaving for work.  I’ve kept them hung up in my closet for “that day” so I have something to keep looking forward to when I feel like I’ll *never* get my weight down.  Though my weight loss has slowed to a crawl, somehow my waist line is still shrinking!  Amazingly, they fit!  I was shocked and exhilarated at the same time.

Since my last post, I’ve been working double time to manage everything.  Weight loss has taken a passenger seat, if not a back seat, in my life as I continue to learn balance.  I’m not giving up though!  I have lost 24 pounds (from 229 to 205) since Christmas and have another 45 to go, maybe more.   I have held steady at this weight all May – well, except for the last week, where I gained 3 lbs due to celebrating my 30th birthday… all week!  LOL!  But, hey, I figure I might as well enjoy celebrating the beginning of a new decade!

My new decade is off to a good start and I am really looking forward to the next 10 years of my life.  A lot can happen in 10 years.  A lot of positive things can happen in the next 10 years.  And I’m going to keep taking baby steps day by day to create this positive change in my life.  No one can take this journey for me.  This is my journey for health and life and I’m taking it seriously.

I may not be traveling as quickly as I’d like to be (patience was never my virtue, but fortunately, for me, stubbornness is!), but slowly and surely my life is changing and moving in a positive direction.  Once we let go of the perfectionism and the “must-have-it-now” syndrome, life is a lot happier and progress seems a lot easier.

Wishing you all a great start to a happy and progressive summer!

This entry was posted in Managing Stress, My Health Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

