Support Systems

I thought I was aware of how helpful and beneficial it could be to develop support systems.  Wow.  I severely underestimated the impact they would have on me.

It is one thing to have a loving family who says, “Yes, I think it is great that you are trying to lose weight.”  Don’t get me wrong, my family is supportive.  Well, supportive in the sense that they agree with what I’m doing and give me positive verbal encouragement when the topic comes up in conversation.  But, this is different.

Being immersed in a community, like LoseIt.com, has surrounded me with people from all walks of life and various backgrounds who have one major thing in common: they want to lose weight.  Some want to lose 20 lbs, others 200.  Some are 20 years old, others are 50.  There are SAHMs, working moms, dads, some married, some single, single parents, low income, middle-class, physically able, physically impaired, runners, walkers, dieters, non-dieters, and everything in between.  But, all of us are trying to lose weight.

It creates a bond, of sorts, this whole losing weight thing.  We “get” it.  We understand the challenges, the fears, the disappointments, the setbacks, the logistics.  We know what it is like to go back and forth, emotionally, wondering if this is really the time we will make it to our goals.

And so, when someone doesn’t log their food for a couple days, we say, “Hey!  Where are you girl?  I haven’t seen you in a couple days.  We miss you!”  When someone gains weight, we say, “Hey, don’t worry.  Tomorrow is a new day.  You can do it!”  When someone logs their weight loss, we say “Great job!  Keep it up!”

Who cares how we got here?  Everyone has followed a path and here we are, for one reason or another.  The important thing is that we have made a choice.  We have chosen to take a new path, a path of health and longer life.  And we chose to support those who are like ourselves, needing that extra bit of encouragement and support through a change in perspective, habits and attitudes.  And, I have to say, I’m loving every minute of it.

This entry was posted in My Health Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

