A New Year, A New Decade

So, it has come.  2010 is drawing to a close and 2011 is advancing quickly on its heels.  Do you find yourself becoming introspective this time of year?  I do.  I like to think about the prior year, the good and bad, what I’ve learned, major events and changes.

This past year has been very challenging.  We started off the year with my husband unemployed, finances tight, massive medical debt, and a baby on the way.  My husband is currently under-employed, but also working on building up our own small business.  So, we are making it (praise the Lord).  Our baby was born and has been an absolute joy to our hearts.  Our son continues to delight and surprise us.  We are building more friendships with wonderful people and becoming more connected in our community.  And despite all of our worldly challenges, my husband and I continue to draw closer to one another and to God.  Truly, there are many silver linings to our Year of Insanity, 2010.

And then I turn my thoughts to the coming year; my hopes and dreams for the future.  Building our business, cutting back (or eliminating) working outside the home, homeschooling our children, serving more in our community.  I start a new decade of my life in 2011 (the big 3-0).  It’s not a big deal really, except that I find myself redefining and refining who I am, what I want, and where I see my path heading.  I long for the wisdom and counsel of my earthly father, but am learning to hear the voice of my heavenly Father.

2010 was about survival for me and our little family.  I believe 2011 has more promise.  A new chapter is beginning in our lives and I am not entirely sure what plot twists await us.  For the first time in a long time, we have hope again.  We have hope that the 10 steps backwards will be redeemed and our goals will be realized.  Hope is a powerful thing.  “Hope deferred makes the heart sick” indeed.

I’m not really setting any New Year resolutions this year.  I’ve started an eating plan and workout routine, complete with tracking at LoseIt.com.  Thanks to the generous Christmas gift that Seth somehow managed to scrounge up the funds for, I am tracking everything I eat and all my workouts quickly and easily on my new IPod Touch.  This is something I have wanted to do for a while and I’m thrilled to finally have a simple system to hold me accountable.  (BTW, LoseIt.com is free, so if you want to “friend” me there and use it too, that would be awesome.)  My only wish is to start my new decade on the right foot, focused and dedicated to the path before me.  I’m not quite there yet, but only because I can’t see the path clearly.  And hopefully, by the end of the year, my step will be lighter literally and figuratively. 🙂

Best wishes to you and yours for a blessed and joyful new year.

-Rachel

 

This entry was posted in My Health Journey, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

