Falling off the Bandwagon

This past week I fell completely off the bandwagon.  It wasn’t until yesterday that I realized that I hadn’t worked out all week (more like 10 days).  And I succumbed to my stress fix (chocolate) on more than one occasion.  Needless to say, I’ve been feeling pretty frustrated.

Yes, there were good reasons: I was sick, babies got sick, stress overload, chronic lack of sleep…  But, I’m still disappointed in myself.  I still want to change and be moving in the right directions.

As I was tempted to feel depressed about my lack of progress, I was reminded of what Joyce Meyer wrote in her book Never Give Up.  She said that we haven’t failed until we stop trying.  I think she’s right.  The fact that I didn’t reach my goals this week was a disappointment, but it is not the end of my journey.  I still have choices to make every day for how I’m going to live.  I have to face the fact that I won’t be perfect; I’m going to make less than perfect choices sometimes.  And other times the circumstances are going to sabotage my efforts.

And that’s okay.  I just have to keep pushing anyway, keep trying.  I have to keep picking myself up anyway.  Because this is important.  Because my children are worth it.  Because my husband is worth it.  Because I am worth it.  Today is a new day and I’m not finished yet.

This entry was posted in My Health Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

