Setting Realistic Goals

One of the things I’ve struggled with throughout my life is setting realistic goals.  Most people have probably heard by now the saying, “Failing to plan is planning to fail.”  And I agree.  If we do not have a plan, then we are coasting along and not living up to our potential as individuals, in our careers, with our health, in business and every other aspect of life.

I’ve found that it is important to set goals that are both challenging and achievable.  When I’ve set an aggressive work out schedule that was sure to get me skinny by a set date, I would do great and stick to it for 2-3 weeks.  Then, I’d slip.  Other priorities would come up.  I’d get stressed out and crash.  Then I would go the opposite direction and not schedule anything!  Yo-yo exercising at its best.

So, now I’m taking a safer approach – baby steps for lasting change.  And it seems to be working.  Last week I lost 1 lb (okay, not a lot, but not bad considering I had ice cream and way too much sushi over the weekend) and my 1 month size loss is 2″ from my waist.  Overall, not too shabby.

This week, I’m sticking with the same daily goals: 15 minutes of exercise, a salad every day and at least 3 pieces of fruit.  At this point, I’m not focusing on taking anything away from my normal eating habits – especially since they aren’t all that bad by now.  I’m interested to see how my theory will work out: the more good food I eat, the better I’ll feel and the less bad food I’ll want.

This entry was posted in My Health Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

