Turning Frustration Into Motivation

There are a lot of things about my health and weight that frustrate, irritate and depress me.  My clothes don’t fit right.  Buying new clothes about makes me cry every time.  My wedding ring can’t come off my finger anymore (only important when it needs cleaned or when going into surgery, but still bugs me that my finger has grown too fat).  Every time I look in the mirror, I am reminded that I’m not the sleek hot chick I used to be.  And picture time… don’t even get me started about pictures.  I can’t stand to be in them.

But, instead of dwelling on the negativity of these things, I can transform them into what motivates me.  Do I really want to get on that treadmill today?  (Looks down at her wedding ring.  Then up to the family pictures on the wall.)  Sigh.  Yep, I guess I do.  Do I really want to eat another piece of fruit instead of ice cream today?  (Thinks about family Christmas photos coming up.)  Yeah, I can handle that.

I think facing our situation, no matter how frustrating or depressing it may be, can help us find the motivation to take those baby steps that will create lasting change.  What irritates you about your health or your weight?  How can you turn those things around in your own mind to motivate you?

“You must never confuse faith that you will prevail in the end – which you can never afford to lose – with the discipline to confront the most brutal facts of your current reality, whatever that might be.” – Admiral Jim Stockdale, Vietnam POW

This entry was posted in My Health Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

