Healthy Habits

“According to both the prestigious Institute of Medicine and researchers from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, two-thirds of our health is determined not by the medical care we receive, but by our health habits and the environment in which we live.” (John Abramson, MD in forward for Eat for Health by Dr. Joel Fuhrman)

After researching health, diets and fitness over the past several years, I have come to subscribe to the philosophy of Dr. Joel Fuhrman that we will not achieve optimum health through fad diets or calorie counting.  Dr. Fuhrman asserts, and medical science bears out, that we will achieve optimum health through proper nutrition and healthy habits.

As I start out on this journey to take my health to the next level, I am evaluating my health habits.  Because it took me many years to get here, I know that my habits will not change overnight.  It is going to take baby steps for me to stick with it.  So, this week, I’m focusing on small changes: walking at least 15 minutes every day, eating (or drinking) a salad every day, and eating more fruit throughout the day.  One day, one step, one choice at a time, my habits will change and I will continue down the road to health.

This entry was posted in My Health Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

