Starting My Journey to Health

Lately, I have had a coming-to-terms with an issue I’ve struggled with for many years: my weight.  Like many women, I have felt uncomfortable with my weight as I compare my expanding waist line and increasing clothing sizes to what I used to wear and to the slender women around me.  It’s not that I’m a slacker or lazy (in fact, I’m a bit of a workaholic).  I’m really good at maintaining my weight, despite a lot of really stressful events and roadblocks in my life.  But, I just can’t seem to shake the extra 57 lbs I’m carrying around (including about 37 lbs of post-baby weight).  And lately, this has really been bothering me more than usual.

Good health is, of course, more than just a healthy weight.  For me it is about balance, healthy eating, and good fitness.  A healthy weight is a byproduct of good health.

Over the past couple of years I’ve been educating myself about health and fitness.  I’ve been slowly incorporating some of the information I have learned.  But, I’m at a point in my life where I feel ready (emotionally, physically, and circumstantially) to face the challenge of drastically improving my health and wellness.  I’ve packed my metaphorical bags and am starting out on a journey for health.  I’ll travel the roads of changing habits, improved nutrition and consistent fitness.  Here I’ll share my progress, victories, failures, favorite recipes, and resources that I find helpful or encouraging.

It won’t be easy.  No doubt I’ll stumble along the way.  But, every step, every attempt to live healthfully, brings me closer to my goal.  Thank you for joining me.  May you find inspiration and encouragement as you share in my journey.

This entry was posted in My Health Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

